Praying and Puttering

I’m puttering and praying around my tiny space with a gorgeous view of the mountains. I always throw in “gorgeous view of the mountains” because that is what makes this place worth the rent I pay. The air is finally warm enough to have my little desk fan blowing, but I’m going to turn it off so I can hear the birds outside my window in the trees. My place is situated “in the trees” which also makes the place worth the rent.  I’ve been talking with God a lot lately and I do it at my computer, in my car, on walks, in my flowered chair, in the shower, well you get the gist. Just about anywhere. What I don’t do often enough though is meditate. Meditation or the quiet time I should allow myself more of, is when answers to those prayers come to me.  Writing for me is sometimes a time to quiet my mind so that I can make room for God and his answers. Does that sound too weird? Re-read. Naw. Not really.

While I’m checking out Facebook this morning and puttering and praying, I find my Prayers for Healing book stuck between the wall and my bed. Jenny gave me this meditation book many years ago and I love it. It has verses, writings, quotes for every day of the year by writers of every kind of belief and philosophy in the Universe. Today when I scanned through it I read, August 25 – “Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” John 14:27 That’s a good one for today. Well actually it’s a good one for yesterday, today and tomorrow.  Back to Facebook.  The first status update I read today was about an old friends father-in-law who is in hospice. She said, he, I think his name is Archie, is “easing into his journey” and her husband went to be with him while he was doing this. I think that is a beautiful metaphor. Just beautiful. And it is also sad, of course. Then another update is an actor in NY who says he’s already been with ” Johnny Walker” this morning.  Sad too. Then came beautiful pictures of a friends new baby grand daughter that was just born. How beautiful and joyous were those pictures and the announcement and congratulations comments! I checked “like” on the pictures. We were friends more than 35 yrs ago and I haven’t seen her since, so I left the comments for relatives and friends she has seen within the past 35 yrs. Anyway, I start to feel a little lonely and isolated from my children and grandchildren while I’m reading about these families and the “chat” box pops up and it’s the new grandma of this beautiful baby girl, saying, “Hi beautiful.” I was surprised because she’s so busy getting congratulations and takes the time to chat with me. I congratulate her and she says she will be seeing an old friend of mine and her mother, next week when she is in Oklahoma. Well this old friend was one of my best friends in the world and I have my happiest childhood memories with her and her family when we would hang out at Grand Lake on weekends. Also hanging out at her house was a pretty neat fun escape in Jr. High and part of HS too. God we had fun. She had a lake house and we would fish and skinny dip and ride motorcycles and horses and I crashed both. The motorcycle and the horse….I remember holding the flashlight in the dark of night while her brother Daryl would gig frogs…I can’t believe I did that. I was trying to impress him, I guess and then Debbie’s dad would fry the frog legs in a beer batter and we would get grossed out but actually they were pretty yummy.  Well anyway, I asked my friend during our “chat” to say hi for me!!!

So within about 15 minutes I share in sorrows in NY and OK and joys in TX and joyous memories of childhood in OK while praying and puttering in my small little perch in the trees with a gorgeous view of the mountains.

3 thoughts on “Praying and Puttering

  1. I had to come and chime in, what you said just sounded so familiar to my life!

    I too have a running dialogue with God, the shower has always been a good place for me to hear Him as well…

    “My place is situated “in the trees” which also makes the place worth the rent.”

    I live in the middle of a huge field of new grass, I pay no rent,so that makes it worth considerably more than I pay for it!

    Grand Lake? close to Joplin,Mo? small world…

    I enjoyed your writing, thank you!

  2. Jeff, Thank you for your comment on my blog fallingrock1.wordpress.com

    My family is in Missouri as I speak on an annual fishing trip near Branson. About the 30th year, my Dad sponsors. I’ve missed it the past few years for financial reasons. Just can’t afford to travel there from Colorado. So yes I am very familiar with where you live. And to answer your question about Grand Lake, it is in Oklahoma.

    I look forward to reading more of your Blog. But I have had a chance to read some of it and man, you have Been Through IT as well! What awesome faith you have! Where you live sounds pretty neat and I should be so lucky to not pay rent! What Grace! Your perseverance reminds me of this quote. And so does mine…

    Jacob, where do you find the strength to carry on in life? “Life is often heavy only because we attempt to carry it,” said Jacob. “But, I do find a strength i the ashes.” “In the ashes?” asked Mr. Gold. “Yes,” said Jacob, with a confirmation that seemed to have traveled a great distance. “You see Mr. Gold, each of us is alone. Each of us is in the great darkness of our ignorance. And, each of us is on a journey. “In the process of our journey, we must bend to build a fire for light, and warmth, and food. “But when our fingers tear at the ground, hoping to find the coals of another’s fire, what we often find are the ashes. “And, in these ashes, which will not give us light or warmth, there may be sadness, but there is also testimony. “Because these ashes tell us that somebody else has been in the night, somebody else has bent to build a fire, and somebody else has carried on. “And that can be enough, sometimes.” – Noah benShea

    Thanks again for your comment and your inspirational Blog. Keep the Faith. Nancy

  3. Nancy, Can’t thank you enough for sharing this with me,

    “Life is often heavy only because we attempt to carry it,”

    I’ve been told that there are no new problems, they just continue to happen to new people,like me!

    John 16:33
    These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.

    Romans 8:37
    No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

Leave a Reply

