I Wanted to Say, “Hey, Move Over!” but I Controlled Myself

It was getting pretty hot in my second floor duplex and  I remembered that the Super Moon was tonight, so I loaded Peanut up in the car and we went on an excursion to find it. We found it in front/back of this woman’s buttocks at the Garden of the Gods. Cars were lined up in the bicycle lane, tripods were set up with real cameras, unlike mine and lovers were croooning and mooning. The night was gorgeous and had cooled down a little after the blistering hot day, at least for Front Range Colorado standards. Peanut and I saw a little Buck in the Garden of the Gods grazing, caring less that the moon was so beautiful, or maybe he was. It’s hard to tell about the four-legged animals. I just know the two-legged ones were out in full force celebrating. I cranked up the classical music, driving home slowly through downtown Manitou Springs and at the only stop light in front of the Stage Coach Inn, a woman was walking her pug and Peanut went ballistic, slobbering and barking frantically at it while prom goers were walking along the sidewalk in their wrist corsages and giggles. I couldn’t believe the classical music on my car radio lasted through the turn around and almost to the top of the hill where we live. As the Miller moths almost as big as bats tried to fly in my mouth and dart in and out in front of my car lights, I pulled in by the creek and headed up the stairs to turn in for the night. See you next year, Super Moon!

Leave a Reply

