Are You Relaxed Yet? Are You Relaxed Yet?

Goofy R’ Us on this Saturday afternoon in the mountains. It’s rare that my buddy, Marian, who I have known for 15 years,  is available for relaxation and goofiness.  She has one of the most stressful and demanding jobs in the region and usually I have to use my special persuasive  powers which sometimes include kidnapping, to get her away from the office or her several phones and pager.  She and I drove up the pass on some errands I had to run. We tasted some wines at Wines of Colorado and enjoyed a great meal on the deck. I eyed a big-ass trout in the creek below us and shrieked with excitementShe jumped straight up in her chair. I knew then that I had a job ahead of me. Get Marian to relax.  I questioned her often; are you relaxed yet? Are you relaxed yet? She finally laughed her deep laugh, declaring that yes, indeed she was relaxed.  And as you can see by the goofy look in her eyes,,,,she was able to embrace the scenery and the food and the wine tastings and the cool breeze coming down from the top of the mountain.  I pride myself in taking on the job of teaching people to relax. I myself was forced to take life at a slower pace so I feel everyone else should give it a try too. After-all, I worry about this dear, dear friend who puts others first in most cases and herself, last. 

Note: I had to get permission to publicize this picture. We laughed so hard while I held the camera on us for several shots that the soup I ordered almost made it into this portrait via my nostril. Other more serious pictures made it to the editing floor. But this shot of my buddy, Marian, is priceless. 

Marian and Nancy

  

Leave a Reply

