Morning Serenity at the Foot of the Peak

I woke up to the smell of smoke coming through my bedroom window at about 4 a..m.; guess the wind shifted because Manitou has fortunately not had much smoke for the past couple days. I heard the first birds in the forest behind my place at 4:43 a.m. Their little chirps are the sound of hope. Manitou is still a little bit of a ghost town up where I live, for Pikes Peak is closed, including the Cog to the top. I think the Incline is too as well as Garden of The Gods. Maybe the Pea and I will take an early morning walk and enjoy the serenity.
Leave a Reply

